The Most Dangerous Place for Shark Attacks

Volusia County. New Smyrna Beach.

I can not make up my mind if being on the top of the list as the world’s most dangerous place for shark attacks is a good or a bad thing. Good — in the sense that, it can drive thrill-seeking surfers, swimmers and extreme sports fanatics all over the world.   Bad — in the sense that, shark attacks is a morbid and scary scene, especially if you have seen the 1975 movie, Jaws.

I used to live in an island. I am an island girl, who does not know how to swim. I am fascinated by the beach sceneries, but never the blue water. I am more of a spectator, than a performer. In my mind, sharks could be anywhere and I coud be eaten and die. Perhaps, this is a result of uncensored movie-viewing in my childhood years. Jaws, that is. Should I thank my parents? Maybe yes, maybe no.

It is a long weekend, and I have nowhere to go. I want to go the beach. In the place that I live now, the beach is just about 2 miles away. But believe it or not, I have not dip in the sea water since I got here. I go to the beach, especially in Daytona Beach, to people-watch. 

I hope someday and somehow, I can visit the New Smyrna Beach- not to swim, but to enjoy nature though my eyes. Heck, it’s just two towns away from us..about 30 minutes drive.

    tingting-rimart

One thought on “The Most Dangerous Place for Shark Attacks

  1. Hi, I guess this is as good a place to post this as any. I tried to subscribe to your RSS feed and kept getting long error messages and it froze up my computer and I had to reboot and start over. Never did get it figured out and gave up. Oh well, it is probably me, not your blog.

Leave a Reply

