A Star Is Born: Charice Pempengco

Up until now, I find joy in viewing Charice Pempengco‘s duet with Celine Dion in Madison Square Garden in New York last week. I am in awe on how this little girl’s great voice graces the world’s stage. It makes me proud on who and what I am, a true blue Filipino. It has been a few months now since I have been following the success story of this young gal from Laguna, since her first appearance in the US television. I was jobless then, and spent my afternoons watching Ellen DeGeneres‘s show. Her Youtube video in a Korean talent show was featured. After that, she had a stint in the Oprah Winfrey show, which eventually created a ripple effect to other gigs with famous music icons in the US and the world.

Celine Dion’s introduction of Charice was very heart-warming and full of sincerity. While listening to her, I had goose bumps all over me. It is like seeing a bud unfolding in front of your eyes to a beautiful flower. Her story is an inspiration to people not to stop dreaming and believing. Most importantly – do not let other people put you down just because they think that that you do not have the “looks”. Her success in foreign countries manifests the weak credibility of the talent shows in the Philippines, which are usually run by big TV stations and decided based text votes.

Leave a Reply

